Travel restrictions regarding coronavirus containment - Oceania

2020, Feb 03    

Last update: 2020-02-03 12:00nn

Territories denying all foreign visitors who had recently been in mainland China within 14 days before arrival

  • Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Papua New Guinea (unless with medical certificate and not a Wuhan citizen), Solomon Islands, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana, American Samoa, Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau

*Visa applications from China on hold for Kiribati

Travel restrictions regarding coronavirus containment in Oceania

Australia - Australia & New Zealand

  • Australians told not to travel to mainland China due to coronavirus threat, border restrictions tightened considerably - ABC News (2020-02-01)
  • Travel Advice: Level 4 - Do not travel to all of mainland China

    The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) has advised Australians not to travel to China due to the “escalating threat” of the virus, while asking those who have returned from the country to self-isolate for 14 days. Mr Morrison said Australia’s chief medical officers had recommended the implementation of additional border measures, which would deny entry to Australia for people who have left or transited through mainland China from February 1. Exceptions will be made for Australian citizens, permanent residents and their immediate family, as well as air crews who have been using appropriate personal protective equipment.

New Zealand - Australia & New Zealand

  • Novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV)
  • Travel advice: Do not travel to any part of mainland China

    The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT) have updated their travel advisory and now recommend that New Zealanders do not travel to any part of mainland China. In order to reduce the chances of 2019-nCoV spreading within New Zealand, additional border measures have been implemented, with effect from midnight on 2 February 2020. These measures will deny entry to New Zealand for anyone who has left or transited through mainland China after midnight on 2 February 2020, with the exception of: New Zealand citizens (including those from the three Countries of the Realm: Tokelau, Niue and the Cook Islands), permanent residents and their immediate family Air crews on direct flights from mainland China who have been using appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE).
    This also applies to passengers who are transiting through New Zealand, unless they are New Zealand citizens, permanent residents or their immediate families. Aircrew who have been in or who disembarked in China after midnight on 2 February will need to self-isolate. We are specifically considering the situation for Pacific Island nationals returning from mainland China via Auckland Airport. People who departed from mainland China before midnight 2 February are not required to self-isolate unless they have been in Wuhan City or Hubei Province in the last 14 days.

Fiji - Melanesia


    As part of the Fijian Government’s ongoing work to contain the global spread of the coronavirus, Fiji’s borders will be closed to all foreign nationals who have been in mainland China within 14 days of their intended travel to Fiji. Similar to newly-instituted policies in Singapore and Australia, no passenger arrivals or transits will be permitted for those falling under these controls, effective immediately and until further notice.

  • Visa Restrictions for Novel Coronavirus - Fiji Gov (2020-02-01)

    Entry of aliens who were present in China, excluding the Special Autonomous Regions of Hong Kong and Macau, within 14 days prior to their arrival at the port of entry in the United States is suspended, per Presidential Proclamation. If you reside in China, have traveled to China recently, or intend to travel to China prior to your planned trip to the United States, we recommend you postpone your visa interview appointment until 14 days subsequent to your departure from China.

Papua New Guinea - Melanesia

Solomon Islands - Melanesia

Vanuatu - Melanesia

  • No announcement of enhanced border control known
  • Coronavirus a major public concern -

    Members of the general public have voiced their concerns over the outbreak of coronavirus in China that has now spread to other parts of the world, urging the relevant Government authorities to be proactive and step up security measures at Vanuatu’s borders.

Kiribati - Micronesia

Marshall Islands - Micronesia

  • FSM, Marshall Islands step up coronavirus travel bans

    The Marshall Islands, which on 24 January was one of the first countries in the central Pacific to issue a travel advisory banning direct travel from China, yesterday expanded the travel ban to include Macau and Hong Kong.

Micronesia - Micronesia

  • FSM, Marshall Islands step up coronavirus travel bans

    FSM President David Panuelo signed a public health emergency declaration that bans travel by Micronesian citizens to China “and other countries with confirmed cases of coronavirus until further notice and until such time that a determination is made that the coronavirus is effectively contained”.

Nauru - Micronesia

  • No information

Palau - Micronesia

Samoa - Polynesia

  • HEALTH TRAVEL ADVISORY IN RELATION TO THE 2019 NOVEL CORONAVIRUS (2019-nCoV) - Somoa Government (2020-02-01)

    (UPDATE: 1 FEBRUARY 2020); All travelers Entering Samoa are advised to take note of the following requirements: A Special Health Declaration Form is required to be filled out by all travelling passengers inflight or on arrival in Samoa. Compulsory screening of all arriving passengers to Samoa is now in effect at all ports of entry. All Travelers originating FROM or TRANSITING through Mainland China, must spend at least 14 days self-quarantine at country of last port that is free of the 2019 Novel Coronavirus and must undergo medical clearance within (3) days prior to final route to Samoa. This must be their final stop before travelling to Samoa. If in the event you arrive within the 14 day period, health quarantine measures will be applied. Return to the country of travel origin will be considered if the traveler is a non-resident. Travellers from the countries/states listed in the table below are required to undergo medical examination by a Medical practitioner within (3) days before ARRIVAL to Samoa. This will come into effect Immediately. This medical clearance is required for check-in prior to issuing of boarding passes. ALL Travellers Transiting Through the listed countries/states for 24 hours or more are required to provide a medical clearance at last port before onward travel to Samoa.

Tonga - Polynesia

  • No information

Tuvalu - Polynesia

  • No information

New Caledonia - France

French Polynesia - France

Wallis & Futuna - France

Guam - USA

Northern Mariana - USA

American Samoa - USA

  • American Samoa extends state of emergency

    All foreign travelers, except for Samoa passport holders, must enter American Samoa through Hawai’i and must spend 14 days in Hawaii before entering the territory. Travellers from affected countries must remain in an unaffected country for at least two weeks prior to entry to American Samoa and all entry permit applications will be subject to a 30-day review period.

Cook Islands - New Zealand

  • refer to New Zealand

Niue - New Zealand

  • refer to New Zealand

Tokelau - New Zealand

  • refer to New Zealand

Countries in Oceania